One comment on “The Playstation Four

  1. From what I could tell from PS4 announcement they had last week, from a hardware perspective the PS4 will not be backwards compatible with any of the previous generations. What I took away from it is that Sony is working on building a cloud based system that will let you stream PS1, PS2, and PS3 games to your PS4. I would imagine that means all the processing will happen on the back end before the game ever reaches the PS4. Kind of like how OnLive delivers games to your PC. Unfortunately it doesn’t look like this will be available at launch and Sony did not give any type time frame for it. The good thing here is that this potentially opens up the entire Sony library to the PS4. The bad thing is that if you have a crappy internet connection or no connection at all, this is not going to work for you. The interesting thing to see is how Sony decides to price this service. They could go the pay for each game method. That wouldn’t be that big a deal for old out of print PS1 or PS2 games, but I could see people getting angry if they have to pay to play a PS3 game they just bought 6 months ago. Another option would be to add it their PS+ service. While I think this probably the best idea, I don’t see it happening. Sure it would bring in more subscribers but considering how cheap the PS+ service is, it doesn’t really maximize their profit potential. I think the most likely option is that they will make it a monthly all you can eat subscription service. If priced right, I think people would buy into it with minimal grumbling. But however that unfolds, it looks like the system might not be backwards compatible at launch, so we may have to hold onto our older Playstations for a bit longer. As for me and PS2 games, I still have my Gen 1 PS3 which plays all of my PS2 games, they didn’t completely rid the system of PS2 backward compatibility until the later gen models came out. I am looking forward to the new system, its social capabilities don’t impress me that much, but the fact that I can use it to stream PS4 games to my Vita is a big win. Plus the new controller looks sweet! I did find it odd that they introduced their new console without actually showing us their new console and I am also not looking forward to finding out how expensive its going to be.

Leave a Reply

